Skip to content

Russia: Belgorod down Zenit Kazan in advance of Round 22!

In the advance of Round 22, a replica of the match played yesterday valid for Round 9, Belogorie Belgorod hit a resounding victory at the tie-break on the (former) unbeaten Zenit Kazan (without Ngapeth and Golubev). Zenit Kazan initially leaves Butko and Volvich on the bench, but the setter enters for Alekno on 15:11 of the first set, and the middle-blocker comes in instead of Kononov from the 2nd set. At 1-1, Belgorod made 2 changes with Sidenko in place of Nelli (only 4 out of 11 in the attack) and Kuznetsov in place of Ilinykh. The move works with the third set going to the hosts. In the tie-break 3 consecutive aces by the young Tetyukhin give an important break (9:5). Kazan recovers (13:13), but then suffered the ace of Leontiev, who entered the serve instead of Chervyakov: 15:13 is the final result, and the Belgorod side inflicted a first defeat to the team coached by Alekno โ€“ the new head coach of Iran Menโ€™s National Team โ€“ in the competition. Zenit-Kazan lost a match in Superliga after nine wins but remained at the top of the standings. As for Belogorie, this was only their second victory (4 defeats) and they occupy the 11th position.
Egor Sidenko top-scored Belogorie with 16 points, while Pavel Tetyukhin served 4 aces and Sergey Chervyakov made 4 blocks. In Zenit-Kazan, the Pole Bartosz Bednorz tallied 23 points, including 4 aces.
Both encounters between these opponents, yesterday and today, were held in Belgorod at the initiative of the Kazan club, which thus unloaded the calendar in order to play in the CEV Champions League.

๐Ÿ“Œ| Advance of Round 22 | ๐Ÿ—“| November 16
Belogorie Belgorod – Zenit Kazan 3-2 (25:20, 17:25, 25:21, 21:25, 15:13)
Top Scorers: Sidenko 16, Chervyakov 14, Samoylenko 13, Tetyukhin 13, Kuznetsov 9; Bednorz 23, Mikhaylov 16, A. Volkov 14, Fe. Voronkov 14, Volvich 11.

๐Ÿ“„| Standings
Zenit Kazan 29
Dinamo Moscow 15
Zenit St. Petersburg 15
Kuzbass Kemerovo 14
Ural Ufa 12
Fakel Novy Urengoy 11
Lokomotiv Novosibirsk 10
Yenisey Krasnoyarsk 9
Yugra Samotlor Nizhnevartovsk 9
Dinamo LO 7
Belogorie Belgorod 6
Neftyanik Orenburg 5
ASK Nizhniy Novgorod 2
Gazprom Surgut 0

%d bloggers like this: