Media & Press 〰️

NORCECA: Puerto Rico made history by winning Continental Championship

2 min read

Puerto Rico made history with first NORCECA Continental Championship title, as in the past they won one silver and two bronze medals, while Canada finished second for the sixth time (in previous editions of the tournament they won one gold and 14 bronze medals).
By entering the finals, Puerto Rico and Canada also qualified for the 2022 World Championship in Russia.
3-0 was the final result, partitally it was 25:18, 25:21, 25:23 in a gold medal match in Durango, Mexico.

Gabriel Garcia led Puerto Rico to gold with 11 points, while Pellegrin Vargas scored 10 and Jonathan Rodriguez 9 points.
Brandon Koppers with 14 points was Canada top scorer, while Xander Ketrzynski added 11.

Oswald Antonetti, Head Coach of Puerto Rico: “What a beautiful feeling reaching your goals, but how beautiful is making history. Teams must be tenacious, have personality and a substance of values and identity to make things like this happen. We are enjoying the moment, each play and the process, listening to “La Borinqueña” (Puerto Rico national anthem) will be really emotional”.

Gabriel García, Puerto Rico: “This was teamwork, we believed in ourselves, in the system and each other individually. We enjoy victory as a team, winning was the only thing on our minds this morning”.

Mexico won a bronze medal at the NORCECA men’s continental championship by defeating Cuba 3-1 (22:25, 25:18, 30:28, 27:25). This is the third bronze medal for Mexico in the history of this competition. Mexican Diego Gonzalez was the top scorer of the match with 22 points. Miguel Angel Lopez scored 19 and Jesus Herrera 18 points for Cuba.

The United States won 5th place by defeating the Dominican Republic 3-1 (21:25, 25:22, 25:22, 25:21).

| NORCECA Finals

Gold medal match | Puerto Rico – Canada 3-0 (25:18, 25:21, 25:23)

Bronze medal match | Mexico – Cuba 3-1 (22:25, 25:18, 30:28, 27:25)

5th place match | United States – Dominican Republic 3-1 (21:25, 25:22, 25:22, 25,21)

Puerto Rican Arturo Iglesias has been named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the competition.

Other awards went to:

Best opposite: Henry Omar Tapia Santana (DOM)
Best scorer: Henry Omar Tapia Santana (DOM)
Best setter: Pedro Rangel (MEX)
Best libero: Dennis Del Valle (PUR)
Best digger: Dennis Del Valle (PUR)
1st best outside hitter: Miguel Angel López Castro (CUB)
2nd best outside hitter: Brandon Koppers (CAN)
1st best middle blocker: José Israel Masso Alvarez (CUB)
2nd best middle blocker: Dawilin Ramill Méndez Jose (DOM)
Best server: Josué De Jesús López Rios (MEX)
Best receiver: Carlos López Santiago (GUA)

Random-Times.com | Volleytimes.com | Copyright 2025 © All rights reserved.