Media & Press 〰️

New format of the South American Championship established due withdrawal of Venezuela

1 min read

Due to the withdrawal of Venezuela from the competition due situation with COVID-19, a new system and schedule of matches for the South American Men’s Championship has been determined: the competition will now be played in a single round-robin format, with each team plays with every other team once.

In the previous format, it was planned that the tournament would be played in two pools, and the two best teams from each group would advance to the semifinals.

The South American Championship will be held from September 1 to 5 in Brasilia. The national teams involved are now Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Peru, and all matches will be played at the Nilson Nelson Colosseum.

Argentina, the runner-up in the previous edition, opens the first round against Colombia, while the current champions, Brazil, starts against Peru. Chile will start the competition in the second round in a match against Peru.
The competition will end with a replay of the match for third place from the Tokyo Olympics between Brazil and Argentina and the match between Colombia and Chile.

01.09 Argentina – Colombia,
01.09 Brazil – Peru

02.09 Chile – Peru
02.09 Brazil – Colombia

03.09 Peru – Argentina
03.09 Brazil – Chile

04.09 Colombia – Peru
04.09 Argentina – Chile

05.09 Brazil – Argentina
05.09 Colombia – Chile

Random-Times.com | Volleytimes.com | Copyright 2025 © All rights reserved.