26 September 2023


Media & Press 〰️

Canada down Brazil to take first Pan American Gold! First medal for Chile

2 min read

In Guadalajara, Mexico, Canada celebrated a historic victory by beating Brazil in four sets (26:24, 20:25, 25:23, 25:22) to take their first ever gold medal at the XVI Men’s Senior Pan American Volleyball Cup.
The winners previously missed out on the gold in three years (2008, 2009, 2022), and fought for bronze on three other occasions.

Earlier encounters had seen Canada falling to Brazil during pool-play. This time, however, with Isaac Heslinga top scorer with 13 points, well supported by Byron Keturakis and Logan House, both contributing 9 points each, was able to win the game.
Darlan Ferreira from Brazil ended the game with an impressive score of 24 points, while Victor Almeida added 11.

Statistics showcased Canada’s dominance with 8-3 in blocking and 4-1 in aces.
However, Brazil took the lead in attack, 59-52, but Canada maintained a slight edge, committing one less error than their opponents (31-32).

Last year’s loss to Cuba was tough, but the team followed this year’s work plan diligently and the result is the gold medal,” said Daniel Lewis, the Canadian coach.

Meanwhile, Chile secured its first Pan American medal, overcoming hosts Mexico 3-0 (25:22, 27:25, 25:22) and claiming third place.
Despite the home fans in Arena Astros in Guadalajara, Chile managed to keep calm, playing better in the decisive moments of the match.

Canada’s Isaac Heslinga was the star of the tournament, being named the Most Valuable Player.
Brazil, despite being runners-up, didn’t go unrecognized: Darlan Ferreira was named Best Server and Best Opposite, while Matheus Silva received the Best Setter awards.
Mexico’s Axel Téllez and Hiram Bravo were named Second Best Blocker, Best Libero, and Best Defense.
Other individual awards went to José Miguel Gutiérrez from Cuba (Second Best Attacker), his teammate Alain Gorguet (Best Receiver), Wilfrido Hernández from the Dominican Republic (First Best Attacker), Daniel Urueña of Peru (First Best Blocker), and Vicente Parraguirre from Chile, who claimed the title of the competition’s Best Scorer.


All International news 🗞️


Random-Times.com | Volleytimes.com | Copyright 2025 © All rights reserved.